🔍 Read the full analysis: ChatGPT Pro Update: What’s Included After The Pro 200 Cut on ThorstenMeyerAI.com
Get privacy and security gear delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
TL;DR
OpenAI canceled a planned October 30 reduction to the $200-a-month ChatGPT Pro plan and increased Work and Codex allowances for its $100, $200 and $500 Pro tiers. The exact effect varies by tier: Pro 200’s lower allowance was raised to match its previous higher allowance, while some chat limits and prices did not change.
OpenAI canceled a planned usage cut to its $200-a-month ChatGPT Pro plan on October 29, a day before the reduction was due to take effect, and raised Work and Codex allowances across its Pro tiers. The company also increased usage for Business Premium, but its official release notes do not specify by how much.
OpenAI’s October 29 release notes say Pro 100 and Pro 500 now have twice their previous Work and Codex allowance. The company also canceled the reduction previously announced for Pro 200. Work and Codex share an allowance, so the increase applies to that shared pool rather than creating separate limits for each product.
For Pro 200 subscribers who had the lower allowance, OpenAI says that allowance doubled to match the higher one. Subscribers already on the higher allowance keep it. The company’s help page says the updated usage applies automatically to existing customers, without waiting for their next renewal; new subscriptions include it as well.
The changes do not raise every ChatGPT limit. OpenAI says Plus usage is unchanged, as are the weekly GPT-6 Pro message limits for Pro 100 and Pro 500. Pro 200’s lower weekly GPT-6 Pro limit now matches the higher one. Ultrafast, the faster speed mode, remains exclusive to Pro 500. OpenAI’s notes say Business Premium usage is increasing but do not give a multiplier; product lead Thibault Sottiaux said in a post on X that it was doubling.
Infographic 01 · After 29 October 2026
What each ChatGPT plan gets now.
OpenAI doubled the Work and Codex allowance on two Pro plans, restored the third and raised Business Premium. Prices stay the same.
Pro 100$100 / month
2×Work + Codex allowanceDoubled- Weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limit unchanged
- No Ultrafast
Pro 200$200 / month
Cut cancelledRestored- Higher allowance: you keep it
- Lower allowance: doubled to match
- Lower weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limit now matches the higher one
Pro 500$500 / month
2×Work + Codex allowanceDoubled- Weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limit unchanged
- Only Pro plan with Ultrafast
Business Premium$100 annual · $125 monthly per seat
Moreno factor publishedIncreased- Release note: usage “increasing”
- Tibo’s post: “doubling”
- No five-hour limit
Plus$20 / month
SameUnchanged- “Plus usage is unchanged” (OpenAI)
Standard, Go, FreeBusiness Standard seats, Go, Free
—Not mentioned- Not part of the 29 Oct notes
What “Work and Codex” means
- ChatGPT Work: ChatGPT’s mode for longer jobs, from research to documents
- Codex: OpenAI’s coding agent, in the app, the terminal and the cloud
- Both draw from one shared allowance, like a shared data plan
What did not double
- Weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limits on Pro 100 and Pro 500
- Plus usage, and every price
- Dots: extended limits continue “for now”, counted separately
Twice the allowance is not twice the work. “A larger allowance does not guarantee twice as many completed tasks.”OpenAI, About ChatGPT Pro tiers
Sources: OpenAI ChatGPT release notes, 29 Sep and 29 Oct 2026; OpenAI, About ChatGPT Pro tiers, updated 29 Oct 2026; ChatGPT Business release notes, 28/29 Oct 2026; Tibo (OpenAI) on X, 29 Oct 2026; ChatGPT Business overview. The 20× figure is my arithmetic on OpenAI’s September scale.
Powered by Thorsten Meyer AI
How the Revised Limits Affect Subscribers
The reversal changes what customers can expect from a plan they pay for each month. Pro 200 subscribers avoid a scheduled reduction, while Pro 100 and Pro 500 subscribers receive more room for Work and Codex tasks at the same listed prices. For people using those tools for research, documents or coding, the larger shared allowance may reduce how quickly they reach the relevant usage cap.
However, an allowance increase does not guarantee twice as much completed work. OpenAI says actual usage depends on factors including the model, task and speed mode. The change also does not double general ChatGPT messages or every feature limit. Business customers face a separate planning issue: the official announcement confirms an increase for Business Premium but leaves its size unspecified.
For organizations, the update is a reason to review which employees need individual Pro plans and which work belongs on business seats or API budgets. Those products have different pricing and usage arrangements. For individuals, checking the account’s usage page before upgrading is more useful than treating broad headlines about doubled limits as a promise that all activity will double.
Products Worth Considering

Anker SOLIX S2000 Portable Power Station, 2,010Wh, 1,500W

EcoFlow DELTA 3 Classic Portable Power Station, 1024Wh, 1800W

Anker SOLIX C1000 Gen 2 Portable Power Station
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
The September Plan Change Reversed
The decision follows a series of changes to OpenAI’s paid plans. On September 10, the company paused new sign-ups for Pro 200. TechCrunch reported that Sottiaux attributed the pause to demand for OpenAI’s GPT-6 Astra model, saying, “Demand for Astra is really unprecedented.” That statement was his explanation for the pause, not a published measurement of demand.
On September 29, OpenAI reopened Pro 200 and introduced Pro 500. Its announcement said that included usage allowances were changing and that affected customers would receive further details by email. Sottiaux described the then-planned scale on X as Plus at 1X, Pro 100 at 5X and Pro 200 at 10X, while saying existing subscribers would keep a 20X multiplier “for a bit.” The planned Pro 200 reduction was scheduled for October 30.
The October 29 reversal restores the higher allowance for customers who would have moved to the lower one. OpenAI’s release notes and updated help page describe the terms more narrowly than some social media coverage: the stated doubling for Pro 100 and Pro 500 concerns Work and Codex usage, not every ChatGPT limit. The help page is also specific that Pro 200’s lower allowance doubled to match the higher one rather than doubling for every subscriber.
“We heard your kind feedback.”
— Thibault Sottiaux, posting as Tibo on X
OpenAI has not published a numerical increase for Business Premium in its October 29 release note. Sottiaux said the allowance was doubling, but the company’s formal note only says usage is increasing. The available information does not establish whether the broader statement applies uniformly to all Business Premium seats.
The announcement also gives no detailed usage figures for each Work and Codex allowance, so customers cannot calculate the new cap from the release note alone. OpenAI says usage varies with the model, task and speed mode. Its notes do not announce changes for Business Standard, Go or Free; that is not the same as confirming that those plans will never change.
OpenAI says its always-on Dots agents retain extended limits “for now,” with usage counted separately. The timing or terms of any later adjustment are not specified. The company has not said that the new allowances translate into twice the amount of work or a fixed number of additional tasks.
Check Plan Limits in Your Account
Existing subscribers do not need to take action to receive the updated allowance, according to OpenAI’s help page. Customers can check their account’s usage information and plan details to see the limits that apply to them. That is especially relevant for Pro 200 users, whose previous allowance determined whether they receive a doubling or retain the higher level they already had.
Business customers may need to confirm the revised Business Premium allowance with OpenAI or their account representative, since the public release note does not state a figure. OpenAI has not announced a date for another change. Any further clarification about Business Premium, Dots or plan-specific caps would need to come from a subsequent company update.
Key Questions
What changed for ChatGPT Pro 200?
OpenAI canceled the reduction that had been scheduled for October 30. The company says Pro 200 subscribers on the lower Work and Codex allowance had it doubled to match the higher allowance; customers already on the higher allowance keep it.
Did OpenAI double every ChatGPT limit?
No. OpenAI’s stated doubling for Pro 100 and Pro 500 applies to their shared Work and Codex allowance. Plus usage and the weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limits on Pro 100 and Pro 500 are unchanged.
Does Business Premium usage double?
OpenAI’s release note confirms an increase but does not give a multiplier. Product lead Thibault Sottiaux said it was doubling in a post on X, so the company’s formal note and his broader statement differ in specificity.
Do existing subscribers need to renew to get the change?
No. OpenAI’s updated help page says existing subscribers receive the updated allowance automatically, without waiting for renewal.
Does twice the allowance mean twice as much work?
Not necessarily. OpenAI says usage depends on the model, task and speed mode. The company has not promised that a larger allowance will produce exactly twice as much completed work.
Source: ThorstenMeyerAI.com
